I thought that name looked familiar!

I was looking through the eTOC (electronic Table Of Contents, for those of you not in academia) for Nature today, and saw this:

News and Views

Nature 451, 22-23 (3 January 2008) | doi:10.1038/451022b; Published online 2 January 2008

Magnetism: Freedom for the poles

Oleg Tchernyshyov1

Yes, my new friend olegt and managed to get a piece into Nature.

From what I understand of the article, someone has shown that it is possible, in theory, for magnets (like bar magnets) to only have one pole.  This is the stuff of science fiction, but is it any more use than Darwinism?

Well done Dr. Tchernyshyov!

4 responses to “I thought that name looked familiar!

  1. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    Fame at last! 😀

    On a serious note, usefulness isn’t a criterion for evaluating works on magnetic monopoles or evolution: the goal of basic science is the advancement of knowledge. Nonetheless, magnetic charges already made it into applied physics: Reference 3 in my N&V article deals with magnetically charged domain walls that one day may become the basis of new-generation random-access memory.

    Incidentally, I have never used the handle olegt on your blog. Where else have we met? 😉

  2. Where are your publications?

  3. You used to use olegt at Uncommon Descent.

  4. slpage,
    If I cited myself, then you would know who I am. The whole point is that I don’t want to be Sternberged (or Gonzalezed, actually).

Leave a Reply

