Dog Day Sunday

Fall is ending and the cold weather is quickly approaching, but there are still some leaves and some nice walks to be had with my pooches.  We found a nice bog with a boardwalk, or at least something to walk on:

The bog walk

M and A were very good and stayed on the path; there’s some intelligently designed breeds right there (ah, but I repeat myself):

M and A staying on the boardwalk - good doggies

The walk led to some nice foliage pictures and finally to a pond that had beautiful trees all around.  Enjoy.

Nice leaves shot

Pond at the end of the boardwalk over the bog

23 responses to “Dog Day Sunday

  1. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    Nice scenery! The pics weren’t taken today, though, right?

  2. professorsmith

    That is correct super sleuth.

    I generally have a lag time of a week or two before pics get posted. Sometimes it’s longer.

    Thanks for commenting on my pics, I think they came out well. The full size ones are even better, and I love taking pics of my dogs.

  3. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    Right. In this particular case, the lag was two and a half weeks. I find it peculiar.

  4. Do you have a point, Oleg? Or are you just being an ass? Which part of “Sometimes it’s longer” is giving you trouble? I find your name peculiar. So what? Nice pictures, Prof.

  5. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    HucksPhin,

    If you don’t see my point it doesn’t mean it’s not there. My curiosity was piqued not by the longer-than-usual delay but by its fractional value. Re-read my comment and think about the italicized part.

    And thanks for your interest in my name. I phind your name phunny, too.

  6. professorsmith

    Mr. Tchernyshyov,
    How did you ever come to the conclusion that it was 2.5 weeks? I’m truly curious to find out why you think you can estimate it down to the “half a week” timeframe. How silly.

  7. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    professorsmith,

    It’s actually not that difficult and I can even be more precise than that. 18 days. Am I right?

    I promise that I will reveal my secret.

  8. Prof., every photo taken with a digital camera has a date code inside it. Though alot of people don’t know that it is not a big secret. The pictures are nice if you took them today yesterday 18 days ago or 6000 years ago. I still don’t see Oleg’s point except the pictures were taken 18 days ago. If that is your point you need to work on your priorities Oleg.

  9. professorsmith

    I’m failing to see the relevance as well.

  10. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    I’ll explain to you the relevance. But first you have to deal with this.

  11. professorsmith

    I don’t have to answer your demands. More demands of this type will be moderated.

  12. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    No, professorsmith, those weren’t demands. They were hints to correct bad acting. Go here for further details.

    Now, on to the date of the picture. It was taken on an early afternoon of Wednesday in late October. I realize that professors have a flexible work schedule. But spending a couple of hours on a Wednesday walking your dogs in the woods isn’t practiced that often. What’s your secret? 🙂

  13. professorsmith

    Unfortunately for you, your date is a little off. Whatever trick you are using has failed you. I can explain to you, but I doubt you would get it.

    Now, I’d like for you to prove your assertions that there’s “bad acting” afoot.

  14. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    Good, now we can focus on something meaningful on this blog.

    Let’s begin with the date on which the pictures were taken. The JPEG files in this and previous Sunday posts bear time stamps ranging from 13:18 to 14:15 on Wednesday, October 24, 2007.

  15. professorsmith

    I don’t see you proving anything.

    My camera’s date/time stamp is notoriously off, because I don’t leave batteries in it. See, you can’t trust the date that’s imprinted in the file. So, too bad for you Sherlock, but you’ve been beaten once again.

  16. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    I don’t think we’re done with this one, professorsmith.

    As a theoretical physicist, I have learned to run independent checks of my theories. I did it this time as well, so I am quite confident of my result. I will explain why later, but let us do this first. Since you are also confident that I erred, why don’t you tell me when these pictures were taken.

  17. Prof. Smith, I had a stalker once. He was crazy and obsessed with me and every little thing I said. He followed me everywhere I went on the web. He is in a mental hospital now and I don’t use my real name anymore. Please be careful. Sick people can be dangerous.

  18. professorsmith

    Mr. Tchernyshyov,
    The irony in all this is that you are accusing me of lying, the same thing that got you all bent out of shape. Yawn.

    The pictures were taken a couple weekends ago. End of story. If you want to discus the first blog post I ever put up, then I suggest you comment there.

  19. professorsmith

    Huck,
    Thanks for the supportive words. When I started this, I knew that the Darwinists would be aggresive, manipulative, dishonest, and difficult to deal with (them, not their arguments) but actually going through it is quite another thing.

  20. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    If you want to discus the first blog post I ever put up, then I suggest you comment there.

    That wasn’t my goal. The only reason to quote that post was because you introduced yourself as a tenure-track faculty member at a research university in it.

    Check the spam filter, please: one of my posts seems to have ended up there.

  21. professorsmith

    You are on moderation. You have threatened me, your incessant paranoia is annoying, and you seem completely unwilling to discuss the issues while simultaneously pretending (dishonestly) that it is I that won’t address the issues. But, to top it all off, you have asked me to violate the law. This has earned you moderated status. I will review your posts from now on on a case by case basis. Those where you behave yourself will be permitted. Those where you don’t will be filtered.

  22. Oleg Tchernyshyov

    I have asked you to violate the law? Which one? And threatened with what exactly? (Now who’s paranoid?)

  23. professorsmith

    I’ve already pointed out your threats. You also asked me to violate the copyright of the Applied Journal of Physics. If you were as much of a scholar as you boast, you should have known that it is improper to post journal articles on a personal blog, unless it is your article, and even then there are web posting guidelines.

Leave a Reply

