Blog Newbie

I’ve been writing this blog for a couple of weeks now, and it’s much more stressful than I would have thought. I’m used to talking in front of 20-30 students, and occasionally an intro class of 100-200 in a large cavernous hall, but this is really like being on tv. Millions of people could watch me screw up. It’s jangling my nerves a bit.

But anyway.

I’ve noticed from reading my past posts that I haven’t achieved an established ‘voice’ yet. I’m moody. Sometimes I’m elated, sometimes down, sometimes elevated, sometimes depressed. But you know what? That’s American. What’s more American than Walt Whitman?

The past and present wilt–I have fill’d them, emptied them.
And proceed to fill my next fold of the future.

Listener up there! what have you to confide to me?
Look in my face while I snuff the sidle of evening,
(Talk honestly, no one else hears you, and I stay only a minute longer.)

Do I contradict myself?
Very well then I contradict myself,
(I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Leave a Reply

